September 10, 2017

September 10, 2017

Posted in Personal tagged , , at 10:40 pm by gruundehn

Sunday afternoon and the weather is nice. Just the sort of weather I really enjoy here in Tucson. The Summer rainy season is ending, maybe. There was a report that the rain may come back for a short period. Fine by me, I like the rain. When I was much younger, I enjoyed walking in the rain, but not so much anymore. I do enjoy watching it though.

Five weeks, more or less, and I turn 68. I don’t feel that old, most of the time. My shoulder, knees, back and ankle hurt often enough so that I never forget how old I am, but I can ignore it for long periods at a time. I don’t shave, not since May of 1987, so I don’t need to look at myself in the mirror every morning and closely examine it. And when I inject my insulin, I can do that without staring at the mirror. I look at the mirror when I brush my hair or my teeth. And even then, I don’t really see the signs of age in my face. I have one of those faces that can look decades younger than I really am. So, I can ignore my age for most of the time. However, coming up on a birthday is a period when my age hits me harder than normal. The anniversary of my eldest brother’s death is another. He was six years younger than me and he died before me. Granted, it took him twenty-five years to die from the construction accident, but he is still younger than me and that hurts when I think about it.

There are a couple of TV shows starting this season that interest me. Both are science-fiction. One starts tonight and the other on October 2. The last new show I was really interested in, and enjoyed, was cancelled after the first season. I hope these two last for a long while, the promotional advertising looks interesting. But, of course, that is the purpose of promotional advertising.

Leave a Reply

