July 16, 2017

July16, 2017

Posted in Personal tagged , , at 9:59 pm by gruundehn

It is a warm and humid day here in Tucson. Not as hot as it has been but the humidity makes it worse. I have lived here in Tucson since 1988 and I do not like the humid weather. If I ever moved somewhere else, not likely, it would be probably a lot more humid than Tucson is as a general rule and I would hate that. I don’t mind the heat but I do mind the humidity. It has been raining for several of the recent nights and that helps. Normally, when it rains here during the rainy season, the rain comes from the South but these last rainstorms have come from the North or the North-East. The small patio in my backyard is on the north side of the building, so I cannot sit and watch the rain storm without getting soaked. I am getting old, I no longer like getting soaked.

Church this morning was all right, the sermon made me think a bit. The Rector of Grace-St. Paul’s Episcopal Church is hard to get out of the pulpit, he gives the sermon every Sunday he can. It is a rare event that he is present and doesn’t give the sermon. The Associate Rector conducts the service and occasionally gives a sermon. A deacon might give a sermon once in a while, or maybe a lay person with a special message. However, out of the 52 Sundays, the Rector will give a sermon on at least 40 of them. The problem with his sermons is that I usually cannot sleep through them. OK, bad joke.

As I am often online reading news or, as right now, posting a thought online either here or on a comment thread, Windows often sends me an unwelcome notice that I have an email. Why is it unwelcome? Well, the notice shows up on the right side of my screen – right where I would be placing the cursor to move the screen or select from my Favorites list. I have to wait for the notice to go away or I have to click on the little X to close the notice and if several emails arrive in a row, I am stuck until that queue goes away. And I cannot often ignore the notices and use my cursor as where I need to put the cursor for a selection is right in the notice – opening an email that I don’t want to deal with at that moment. I cannot find a way to shut off that email notice application. I haven’t selected it, it came installed with the update.

Leave a Reply

