June 9, 2017

June 9, 2017

Posted in Personal tagged , , at 11:14 pm by gruundehn

I have been running the air conditioner off and on most of the day. It is summer in Tucson. Yes, I know, not officially summer yet, but the effect is that it is summer. Tucson has five seasons. Winter, Spring, Fire, Rain, and Fall. So right now is the Fire season but the rain should start in about three weeks. When I was first assigned to Tucson back in 1971, the rainy season (commonly called, incorrectly, the monsoon season) would have a rainy day about three times a week. The storm would start about 1 PM and last about 2 hours. Almost like clockwork. Now, the rain is more likely to hit in the evening or morning as the afternoon.

I got a lot of writing done today. I did not keep track of the word count but I worked for several hours. A lot of that work was deleting and rewriting, but the end result was an increase in the word count. Commodore Elder is starting to realize just what he is facing. Of the eleven people who took the entrance examination with Elder back in the first book, all are dead except Elder and one other. I haven’t decided if I am going to kill that last one in the story or between stories. The future I present in these books is dangerous. Especially for members of the military. And this is without a declared war.

I need to start doing my YouTube video series again. I haven’t posted a video in weeks. My problem is that I will work out a topic and then something will happen and I want to do different topic. This evening or maybe tomorrow I want to do one on tribes and the fractured nature of modern society. As part of that idea, I am thinking that large states are an anomaly and humans are more comfortable with small states. Small groups are ideal for teaching, working and so forth, so why not governing? I have more to think about on this. I am retired US military and, on a shellfish note, if the USA breaks up, who pays my retired pay and my VA disability check? But, that is just an aspect to think about.

Tucson is home to a lot of retirees. However, one retiree family is leaving for Ohio. A friend from my church is moving to Ohio now that he and his wife are retired. They want to be closer to family. I have toyed, off and on, with moving back to Indianapolis. Rocky is more a small town person but I am a city boy. I have lived in a small town once and it was a suburb of Cincinnati; close enough so that it probably would be the same urban area Рespecially now fifty years later. I will probably  ever leave Tucson though, wishful thinking aside.

Leave a Reply

