June 3, 2017

June 2, 2017

Posted in Personal tagged , , , , at 3:39 am by gruundehn

Spent most of today shopping. I have one of those laundry carts that I use to carry groceries in, especially if I intend to get a lot of groceries, and it broke. It actually broke when I fell on it during a bout of hypoglycemia a few months ago, but today it got so much worse that I am going to finally replace it before shopping again. I did do some shopping without it this afternoon but the grocery bags the store provided were weak and broke under the weight of my canned goods. Thankfully, a young woman (young to me, she mentioned being 35 and I am 67) stopped and helped carry the bags to my apartment. Without her help I would have had to drop a couple of bags of groceries off (and hope that they did not get stolen) while taking one bag home and getting a cloth bag I have and doing a second trip.

I haven’t gotten any writing done today because shopping took so long. And relaxing after getting home took longer than I expected. Trying to get my arm to stop hurting is not something done in a minute. Back about four years ago I tripped and broke my arm, I now have a rod helping hold the broken section together and that rod was put in through my shoulder. My shoulder has never healed right. Neither has the right arm. So, since I use my cane with my left hand, anything I carry is carried by the arm that isn’t quite healed from four years ago. A heavy weight, groceries for example, makes it hurt. And I have to use the cane to keep from tripping and falling again. Being old and having joint and bone and muscle problems is a pain (pun intended).

Tomorrow I play TTRPG with my friends. As much as I am growing to hate D&D, I enjoy being with my friends. I am gathering material for a campaign I want to run, using another TTRPG system. I like the campaign setting and I do not mind the play rules very much. I had wanted to just use the setting with a set of rules I like but I don’t think that is going to work. So, I am gathering all the material I need, setting and system both.

My feet are long and narrow and I think that they are getting longer as I age. I used to be American size 13 and now the shoes I am wearing are size 15, and I think that my feet are getting too big for them already since I feel like my toes are rubbing against the end of the shoes. If it isn’t one thing, it is another as far as my body goes.

It is almost bedtime for me. I used to go to bed after the late news but now I go after the earlier late news. Confused? I used to watch the entire 10 PM newscast and perhaps a bit of one of the talk shows, but now I watch part of the 9 PM newscast and go to bed after the weather report. I get my news from so many sources anymore that watching the newscast isn’t that big a deal. So, I watch to see what the weather is going to be like when I get up. I don’t pay attention to the forecast for more than the next day as the weather service cannot be accurate for more than 3 days anyway and usually less. So, I see what the weather is going to be like when I get up. For the rest of the day I use the weather applications on my computer.

Leave a Reply

