May 31, 2017

May 31, 2017

Posted in Personal tagged , , , at 10:28 pm by gruundehn

It is a hot one today, but that is normal for this time of year here in Tucson. I had to travel around Tucson to get some business done and I am glad I am back at home now. The bus system does not have enough shelters that provide shade. Some of the shelters are positioned, out of necessity, so that the sun angles into the shelter and there is no shade. Even the ones with shade do not provide much cooling if there isn’t any wind. Once the wind stops, the heat percolates into the shade and the shade doesn’t do as much good. Too much wind is uncomfortable but a little, enough to just feel it, is great.

Yesterday, for whatever reason, I was tired all day and got almost noting done. I lay in bed whenever I could and avoided doing anything I could. I felt tired all day, and I have been sleeping well so it wasn’t tiredness from lack of sleep. I was just tired all day.

One thing I did get done yesterday was discover the ending of the series of books I have been writing about Jesip Dwight Rodger Allen Elder (read what I have finished on my other blog christophercolesite.wordpress.com) so I have the start and the end of the last book in the series. Five books. Once I am done and working on the next (probably MAGIC IN THE MONASTERY) I might go through them again and flesh out certain thin areas and offer the entire series for publication. I will take them off the blog site before submitting them.

It is amazing just how little I do each day that isn’t a repeat of every other day. I miss, kind of, my days on active duty. Then, when I went to work, I never knew what was going to happen. I fixed airplanes for the Air Force, specifically the avionics that was intended to keep our planes from getting shot down, and the problems were rarely similar enough to get boring. Four of the types of aircraft I worked on are still in service even though I have been on the retired list for thirty years this August. The AC-130, the A-10, the B-52 and the F-15. The F-4 and the FB-111 are out of service. The DC-130 I think is out of service but I do not know. I know the specific type of drone I worked on, the AQM-91 is out of service. Twenty years of active duty expressed, kind of, in one short paragraph.

Leave a Reply

