May 21, 2017

May 21, 2017

Posted in Personal tagged , , , at 11:34 pm by gruundehn

A lazy Sunday afternoon. After church I did a small bit of grocery shopping and since then I have just been watching YouTube and reading some news feeds. One reason I watch YouTube is that, for a lot of the videos, I can just let my eyes watch and my brain can work on what I am writing or planning to say in a YouTube video of my own.

The game yesterday was OK but I really want to get away from D&D. I am planning on doing my own campaign using the Harn setting and the GURPS rules. However, for some reason I haven’t been able to order a couple of items from Columbia Games. I order them and the order get lost immediately. I sent an email to the company about it, but since I wasn’t paying attention to the day, I sent it on Saturday when the company is probably closed. Sometimes being retired causes me to forget just what day it is. Most of the time, it makes no or little difference, but occasionally it matters a lot.

I guess that this coming week is going to be productive, I don’t have a lot to do outside of working on HIGH TREASON and getting ELDER’S DILEMMA prepared. Tomorrow, Wednesday, Thursday and Friday are all without problem, except grocery shopping, and Tuesday only has something in the morning, chewing out the Pima County Board of Supervisors. They have just gone through a series of special meetings on the budget and there is just the final, rubber-stamp, of what the bureaucrats want that will happen next month. Arizona has an Open Meeting Law so the Supervisors cannot meet to discuss the budget except at a public meeting with prior notice. And they cannot meet in private either as a group or serially (meaning that A talks to B, who talks to C and discusses  what A said, etc.) so they are required by law to discuss the budget in public and if they want to change anything all discussions on the change have to be in a public meeting. And they have not done this, which is why I say they are just going to rubber-stamp what the bureaucrats want.

I have never wanted to be President nor hold any other major political office. Thus, I have never been strict about my personal life. Now, I begin to regret that as I would like to run for a seat on the Board of Supervisors. The District I am in is held by a Democrat, a far-left Democrat, and I think I could unseat him. Absent my bad history of course. There are five members of the Board of Supervisors, right now three Democrats and two Republicans. The District I am in is mostly inside the city limits of Tucson so the County does very little for the District. As a Libertarian, if elected, I would make the composition two Democrats, two Republicans and one Libertarian. And since I would side with the Democrats on certain issues and the Republicans on certain other issues, I would be a swing vote and thus influential. The four others would want my vote on something and I could use that to pressure the County to take more care of the District. Even though the people live in the City of Tucson, they also live in the County of Pima and deserve a fair shake from the County Government. However, my history would totally prevent this from happening.

Leave a Reply

