May 12, 2017

May 12, 2017

Posted in Personal tagged , , at 10:53 pm by gruundehn

I have been busy all week but it feels like I have done nothing. I did get some writing done today, I worked on HIGH TREASON. As I lay in bed before getting up, I started thinking about a series of short stories I wanted to write a few years ago. There is a genre of role-playing game called superhero RPG. Several years ago the group I game with was playing a superhero campaign and I invented the phrase “We’re UPSET, you’re under arrest!” The campaign setting involved a successor to the UN called United Planet and the superhero cops were the Special Enforcement Teams – thus UPSET. Anyway, I thought about writing some short stories about cases involving UPSET as a series, none of them were to involve the characters we played as I did not want to use them, and now I don’t remember them, so I just made characters up. I dropped the idea for whatever reason but I started thinking about it again this morning. I doubt I will follow up on it, I have to get the Elder Saga books done and then MAGIC IN THE MONASTERY, THE GOD’S TALE and maybe the books in the HOUSE FOURTEEN series. But I might if I cannot get it out of my mind enough. I am 67 years old, if I keep at this I will be working on these until I die.

I haven’t done a YouTube video for a long time, I keep starting on one, but I drop that topic and start on another topic. I used to do that with my writing, so now I guess I will have to work through that with the videos.

I have other projects I need to do as well. There is an old saying: If you want something done, give it to a busy man. I should be busy, all day every day, but I procrastinate too much. I can force myself to get writing done, but there are just too many things to sidetrack me. Living alone, I have no one to help do the cooking, shopping, laundry, cleaning, etc. So, that takes a lot of time away from my writing. As does other interests I have such as politics, church, and TTRPG.

There may be a problem with my apartment complex. I paid my rent on time, May 1st, but the check has not cleared the bank yet. I spoke with one of the clerks in the management office and she assured me that I am paid up. I still worry that somehow my check will get lost and I will get into trouble over it. I am worrying over nothing I am sure, but I worry.

Leave a Reply

