April 24, 2017

April 24, 2017

Posted in Personal tagged , , at 10:12 pm by gruundehn

I am going to start painting some TTRPG miniatures this evening. I have everything I need, I think, for certain of the unpainted figures I own. I want to set up a case for the painted figures separate from the unpainted ones. Maybe, if I can figure out how to insert photos in these posts, I will post pictures of some of my efforts. If I do, do not expect high quality at the start, I haven’t painted for a long time; except one figure and it was a horrible result. I am going to start with simple figures, animals and such without a lot of detail or variation. Once I get my hand back, I will do more detailed miniatures.

I did get some writing done today. Boy that was a surprise when I realized just how long I have been procrastinating on HIGH TREASON. I threw my old draft away because I had screwed it up by having Emperor Caroline alive in this book. And once I killed her off, it was easier to start over. My problem with HIGH TREASON is that I keep thinking about ELDER’S DILEMMA and not HIGH TREASON. I have to focus on what I am doing. I keep asking people to visit and comment on my writing but, as of yet, only my brother has commented and his comments have been in private emails. Like a great many authors, I am a bit insecure about my writing and want validation.

The weather is now the best it will be until autumn. Summer is coming and with summer comes high temperatures and rain. I like it when it rains, Tucson can use every drop it gets. It will be interesting to see how the rain falls on my backyard; if I can sit on the patio and watch the rain or not without getting drowned by the rainfall. When it does rain here, it is either a drizzle or a downpour.

One nice thing about this apartment is the way it is set. It is in the middle of a building, with the southern face somewhat shielded by another building, and completely protected from the eastern sun. The western sun hits a small part of the living room for maybe half an hour now, and so the electric bill should be considerably smaller since I should not have to run the air conditioning to counter the heating of the climate as much. I may have to use the central heat come winter and I have no idea how much that may cost but I may not run it at all. I am getting old so the cold affects me more than it used to, but I might be able to avoid having the heater turned on anyway.

Leave a Reply

