February 8, 2017

February 7, 2017

Posted in Personal tagged , , , at 1:51 am by gruundehn

Still no nuclear war, or massive round-up of dissidents or any of the other fears of the progressives. What a surprise.

I spent most of today with the Pima County Board of Supervisors. There was an item on the agenda concerning a sewer rate hike of 4% and there was a long presentation on that but the point that got most of the people attending upset was that this hearing interrupted the Call to the Audience where just about everybody spoke out against Monsanto. I understand that the sewer rate hearing had been advertised for a specific time and the Arizona law required that the hearing take place at that specific time, but there were a lot of annoyed people anyway. The Monsanto issue is that the Federal Government may declare a Free Trade Zone to the benefit of Monsanto and about 95% of the people speaking on the issue want the Pima County Board of Supervisors to declare opposition to that declaration. If the County Government does declare opposition, based upon historical precedents the Federal Government will refuse to grant the FTZ status. There are other issues with Monsanto, but one fight at a time.

I had to leave the meeting early as I was starting to get¬†hypoglycemia. I stopped at a Thai restaurant near the County building and enjoyed the meal. Seated next to me were a couple of guys talking about Thailand and one mentioned that “Hello” in Thai was sawadee to which I commented that sawadee was indeed the proper greeting unless one was in Southern Thailand where the proper greeting was “Sawa-Howdy Y’all”. It took a second, then he got the joke. For those not familiar with the Southern USA, especially Texas, Howdy and Y’all are common expressions. He got a good laugh out of that.

I have to get back into apartment hunting tomorrow. I am getting loan companies wanting to do my VA home loan but I need something more on my credit report. It would be odd if it would be easier for me to get a house than an apartment but I begin to think that might just happen.

Leave a Reply

