December 10, 2016

December 10, 2016

Posted in Uncategorized tagged , , , , at 9:27 pm by gruundehn

Today would have been my dead Brother’s 61st birthday. His full name was Kenneth Daniel Cole; our Father wanted him named Kenneth and our Mother wanted him named Daniel. Dad won the fight as Kenneth was his first name but Mom won the war as he was almost never called that, Dan was the name most often used. He and a cousin were due early in December but they swapped birthdays. Dan was to have been born on the 5th but arrived on the 10th and Philip was the opposite. Both weighed exactly 9 pounds. It is family lore that the doctor who delivered Dan said that if he had known that Philip weighed 9 pounds, he would have added a couple extra ounces to Dan’s weight. I was late, Dan was late, Wally (the next in order) was on time and Eugene (the youngest) was 6 weeks premature. Dan has been dead for about a year and a half now and I still miss him. He was injured in a construction accident 26 years ago now and died as a result. His body gave up fighting the injuries.

Normally on Saturdays I play TTRPG but for the next few months the game session is moved to Sundays. So today I did other stuff. I did get some writing done on HIGH TREASON and some editing done on GENERATION UPON GENERATION. I haven’t picked the name of the villain in HIGH TREASON yet but I am leaning towards the daughter of the present Emperor who wants to kill her mother because her mother will not retire as per custom and let the daughter, Margaret, ascend the throne. If I go this route, I will have to change the background material I have written over the years but that would be no problem. If not Margaret, then whoever it is that is the villain will require some extra work on my part justifying how that person would ascend the throne if the treason goes through. Probably Margaret would be another target as well. I am thinking that it would be easier to have Margaret the villain but I will have to see how the story goes forward as I write it.

I am getting all this done in between bouts of cleaning. I hate housework and right now I am cleaning the bathroom and it is hard work.

I am still throwing away books I no longer read and no longer want. I throw away just a few in each trash can so that I don’t tear the liner but I have three trash cans I use in different rooms so I am making headway. I can’t give these books to the library because they are too old and most are damaged. So the landfill gets them. Ideally, I would never throw books away and I would read each book often enough to justify keeping it but I don’t have the time anymore.

The weather here is staying the same as it has been for the last several days. I am catching up on my sleep, I remember reading a report that stated that sleep is better in slightly cooler conditions and since I don’t use the central heating, I use an electric blanket instead, I satisfy that requirement. All I have to do is keep this up. I doubt that I will be able to do so but I can dream.

For anyone buried under snow, I feel sorry for you. It almost never snows here and even when it does snow, it isn’t much nor does it hang around long. Up on Mt. Lemon and the Catalina Mountains in general, it is a different story. Mt. Lemon is the southern-most natural snow ski resort in the continental USA. The folks up there have never had to resort to artificial snow as far as I can recall. Quite a feat.

Leave a Reply

