December 7, 2016

December 7th, 2016

Posted in Personal tagged , , , , at 10:51 pm by gruundehn

Remember Pearl Harbor! That was a cry that my parents lived with when they were young. Since I was born in 1949, I know of the attack only through history books. I knew someone who served in WW II but never anyone who was at Pearl Harbor during the attack. But with my career in the USAF, I can empathize with those who were there. Kind of.

Not a lot done today, although I did get started on HIGH TREASON. I didn’t get a lot done on it, but what I did get done settled a lot of what I want to say in the book. I have a much clearer idea of what the book is and where it will be going. I didn’t get anything done on GENERATION UPON GENERATION but there isn’t much left to do with it. Unless I decide to completely rewrite it and I doubt I am going to do that again.

The weather here in Tucson is still cold for here and now. I stay indoors as much as I can, but living alone I have to go out and do stuff, and I wear sweat clothes at home in order to help keep warm. I haven’t used the heater for years. Southwest Gas charges a service fee even when the gas isn’t used. I don’t need the heater, although that might change, so I save myself a lot of money. And saving money is a good thing given how little I have coming in and how bad prices are going to get in the near future. Arizona bought into the propaganda and passed a large increase of the minimum wage and since that is going to raise prices and my retirement pay is not going to rise to match it, I am going to be poorer.

I am still getting rid of unwanted books, a few at a time. Thoreau talked about possessions owning us and I can see his point. All the books I have take up so much space and collect so much dust that my options are limited. So, at the rate I am going, I should be down to about 2,000 books in a couple of years. Maybe less, but it is slow going.

 

Leave a Reply

