November 1, 2016

October 31, 2016

Posted in Personal tagged , , , at 12:22 am by gruundehn

Halloween. I have no children, as far as I know, and the apartment complex I live in has not had and trick-or-treaters for the last two or three years so I am leaving to visit friends. As soon as I finish this post and test my blood sugar, I am off.

I got frustrated yesterday. Frustrated and annoyed. As anyone who has read my posts knows, I am a fan of the Cincinnati Bengals. I recorded the game in London yesterday. The recording stopped with about one and a half minutes left in the game with the Redskins driving towards the goal. I had no idea what happened. The Bengals were leading by 3 points and if the Redskins scored a touchdown (and made the extra point) they would be ahead by 4 and probably win the game. If they kicked a field goal, it would be tied at the end of regulation and there would be an extra period. I missed the last minute and a half and, as it turned out, the overtime as well. The game ended in a tie as I discovered when I researched the game this morning. Normally when I record a game I get the whole game and I have the chance to add an extra 30 minutes to the recording session just in case there is an overtime. I didn’t get that option and I lost out on what might have been some good football.

I am having trouble realizing that it is almost the end of the year. An old saying that I remember is: When you are young, the days go fast and the years go slow; when you are old it is the opposite. I must be getting old since the days drag and the years fly. I have to get some more toys for the Toys 4 Tots program and get them delivered early in December. I presume I will celebrate Christmas as normal, church in the evening and ignore the day itself for the most part. I do have a tradition I do every year, carried over from my father. I read the book CHRISTMAS CAROL and watch two of the movies, the ones staring Patrick Stewart and George C. Scott. Those are the best two adaptations of the book out of all the movies I have seen. But this is all before Christmas. I also wish everyone “Merry Christmas” until Epiphany and explain that Christmas is a season of twelve days when questioned. But that isn’t a tradition, just a thing I often do. If I did it all the time, it would be a tradition.

Leave a Reply

