October 14, 2016

October 14, 2016

Posted in Personal tagged , at 9:46 pm by gruundehn

Happy Birthday to me, Happy Birthday to me, Happy Birthday, Happy Birthday, Happy Birthday to me.

And there I have paid more attention to this birthday, I am 67 now, than I have to any other birthday in probably 45+ years.

I attended a court hearing this morning on an election issue and in my mind the right side won the skirmish. To describe the issue, the equipment Pima County uses to tabulate the votes in an election (it is a recent purchase) takes a picture, sends the picture to a computer where the votes are tabulated. The ballot itself is not used to count, just the digital image of the ballot. And there is no way to compare the ballots to the images since the County has been destroying the images for the last two elections, the only two this equipment has been used for. Since the digital data can be manipulated once it is in the computer, reference the Volkswagen scandal, the ability to trace the computer record to the actual ballot is crucial. The judge decided that the images were public records and as such, they must be kept just like ballots.

I am taking the day off from writing and just relaxing. I attended the court hearing this morning but that was it. I do not intend to do anything else today that might be considered work. Taking the day off, when I can, is about the only thing I do for my birthday.  Normally, am busy doing something even if not writing, even on weekends,  but today I relax.

Leave a Reply

