August 23, 2016

August 22, 2016

Posted in Personal tagged , , , at 1:35 am by gruundehn

OK, allow me to start off with (as if you had any choice) the court case against Pima County on the Worldview issue. I did attend the hearing and the County lost three of the four requests they made to throw the case out. The last issue was taken under advisement by the judge as she had intended to throw that one out as well but something the County said made her question that decision. I could never sit on a jury in this case as I believe too strongly that the County broke the law and betrayed taxpayer trust on this.

As I was heading downtown on the bus I met an old lady who needed to cast her early ballot and I helped her get to where she needed to go and I answered a question she had about the blank lines on the ballot for write-in candidates. It always makes me a bit happier to help someone.

I’ve been talking about sleep a lot lately and how I haven’t been getting a good night’s sleep. Well, last night I got a good night’s sleep. Probably too much sleep as I got nothing done this morning done in the way of writing. But it was nice to sleep for three or four hours before I had to get up to go to the bathroom.

Once I am done with this post I have to work on my next YouTube video. Plus, I should get some of the older ones onto the Facebook pages of myself and the Pima County Libertarian Party. I also need to talk to the State Chair and start putting them on the State Facebook page if they have one.

In seven weeks I turn 67 (October 14th) and I never feel that old until I think about it. I don’t think I feel any different than I did, say, when I was 37. And looking at that last sentence I just realized how long it has been that I have been on inactive duty (retired). I joined the USAF in 1967 and went on inactive in 1987. Twenty-nine years. Nine years longer than I was on active duty. I have had, over the years, faced a lot of discrimination. First because of my military service and then my age. I have had only a couple of jobs during that time, four in total now that I think of it and I quit two of those since I was not making any money (those were sales jobs). One the company went under and the other was a limited time hire for the Census Bureau – not the decennial census but a couple of other projects.

Talking about the Census job reminds me of an incident that happened there. For those of you from Indiana or who follow college basketball a bit of background. If this is meaningless to you, sorry. My Father went to Purdue and my Mother to Indiana. If you know the rivalry there, and how serious college basketball is in Indiana, you can understand what it was like for me growing up in the 1950’s. The job I had at the Census Bureau was two projects and there was a short break between them. During that break I was given the task of verifying information at businesses across the country. One of the businesses I called was the Purdue-Indiana Combined Campus. I got the information and told the clerk I was speaking with that I had a personal question. I explained that my Father went to Purdue and my Mother went to Indiana and then asked: “During basketball season how do you keep the students from killing each other?” I never got an answer as the clerk was laughing so hard I think she fell to the floor.

When I tell that story I usually follow with the comment that when I was visiting my grandmother one day, she had six different basketball games on, both TV and radio and both NBA and college. She knew what was going on in each game. She knew more about the Indiana basketball team than they did. Today she would be a stalker but back then she was just a fan.

Leave a Reply

