August 22, 2016

14th Sunday after Pentecost, 2016

Posted in Personal tagged , , , at 12:59 am by gruundehn

It is getting ready to rain. I was just outside and felt a few drops, and there are loads of black clouds off to the south. Maybe to you rain is no big deal but Tucson is in a desert, the Upper Sonoran Desert and we get about 12 inches a year, or about 30cm. We are ahead for the 30-year average by about an inch and a half but we are recovering from a twenty year+ drought. Plus, people keep moving here and depleting the water supply. And, yes, I am one of them; I was first stationed here in 1971 and until 1977 I was in and out at DMAFB. I returned in 1988 and have stayed ever since. If I ever leave Tucson it will probably be involuntarily.

I have been trying to keep up with the daily posts but have missed a few. I can report that I am sticking with my no cola resolution. According to the various sources I have read on the subject it is the caramel coloring that is bad. So now I look at the ingredients and get surprised at how often that is an ingredient in any soda not just colas. And the sodas I can get without the caramel coloring all have sugar which I have to be careful of. If I drink some sugared soda too late in the afternoon my blood sugar reading gets skewed. So, I end up drinking sugar soda after the evening test which I take somewhere around 5:30 PM MST.

Speaking of Mountain Standard Time, Arizona does not use Daylight Saving Time except for the Navaho Nation in the North-East corner. One of the many projects I want to do, other than writing, is to do research on the amount of injuries, deaths and property damage done when the changeover between standard and daylight saving time happens. Especially in the Spring when the clocks are moved forward, there must be considerable problems.

Tomorrow a court case that I am interested in has its first session. I plan to go downtown and watch. The case, which I have mentioned, concerns Pima County apparently breaking the law in awarding a contract to Worldview for their headquarters and launching pad here in Pima County. This is cronyism from start to finish. The husband of Gabrielle Giffords, the member of Congress shot by a left-wing lunatic a few ears back, is a partner and that is the only reason Worldview got the contract since they refuse to release any financial data. I hope the County loses this case. If I had the money I would sue the County for every action that they take that I believe to be either against the law or without legal authorization. We, the people, have to obey the law, why not the government? I’ll try to remember to post about the case tomorrow.

 

Leave a Reply

