August 8, 2016

12th Sunday after Pentecost, 2016

Posted in Personal tagged , , , , at 1:34 am by gruundehn

I don’t sleep well anymore it seems. I take sleeping pills when it gets too bad but I never take them more than two days in a row. Last night was a night I didn’t take a sleeping pill and I had a horrible night. I went to bed around 8:30 PM and slept until around 12:30 AM and could not get back to sleep until close to 5 AM. Once back to sleep I slept until 11:30 AM roughly, totally missing church. This is happening more and more and I hate it. I see a doctor on the 25th and I have a host of problems I want to bring up. At 66 years of age, I turn 67 in a few weeks, I cannot expect to have perfect health but this is getting ridiculous.

Football season is starting and I am happy for that. I enjoy football, I used to play in high school, and now I am limited to watching. As I have said, I am a Cincinnati Bengals fan and look forward to their games. Football is a game of deception, counter-deception and teamwork and is highly enjoyable for those reasons, at least for me.

Making a daily post limits what I say about the past week here on Sunday nights but that’s OK I guess. I live a pretty boring life and I like it that way. I had enough excitement when I was on active duty. Getting shot at once was more than enough for me. And it wasn’t even the enemy that shot at me, and if I had been hit or killed, it would have been classified as an accident. I still get nightmares, thankfully not as often anymore, about the incident.

It has been raining a lot recently here in Tucson. Which may not seem like news but remember, Tucson is in a desert. So far this year we are close to an inch and a half above average and when the annual average is twelve inches, being that much ahead at this point is a good thing. When I was first stationed here in the early 1970s during the summer rainy season the storms were almost like clockwork. Around two to four times a week it would get hot enough so that the heat rising would start a thunderstorm around 1 PM and the storm would last about two hours, dropping the temperature a good twenty degrees or so. Now there is no regularity in when the storms happen or how long that they last, but at least this year, we are getting a good rainy season. What has made the recent stormy period hard to live with is that the humidity has been high, relative to normal for Tucson, and while the storms have brought a lot of rain, the storms haven’t been often enough to reduce the humidity as often as would make it comfortable. If I wanted high humidity, I’d move back to Indianapolis.

If you wish to do so, please visit gsptucson.org and get the prayer list from the Sunday bulletin and pray for those in need. I also ask that you pray for the millions of people killed, driven from their homes or otherwise persecuted by Muslims throughout the world.

Leave a Reply

