August 5, 2016

August 5, 2016

Posted in Personal tagged at 11:25 pm by gruundehn

So yesterday I posted Chapter 2 of DREADNOUGHT. I do not like transcribing anything but it is the only way I know to get anything I wrote posted on my other blog. I mean, reading off of a paper in order to write it onto a blog? To me that’s dull and boring. So I get a few paragraphs done and watch a YouTube video or two. BTW, I also post some videos on YouTube on the channel Christopher Cole. Well, one of the channels named Christopher Cole. If you are interested, some of the titles are: Initiating Violence, Why Waste Your Vote. There are others but those two, the first two I did, should get you to the right channel.

I did get some done on GENERATIONS UPON GENERATIONS today and I think I know where it will end finally. Normally when I write I know the beginning and the ending of the story and the middle works its way out as I write. This version of GENERATIONS UPON GENERATIONS is different. When I first wrote the story, before the fall of the USSR, it had a nice ending but that was ruined by the fall of the USSR. So I set it aside and worked on other stories. Well, I came back to GENERATIONS UPON GENERATIONS and started in on it again with a major twist and found that it wouldn’t work so I dumped it and started again. I’ve been working on the story but not knowing how it will end. But today! Today I thought of how it will end, at least the basic idea. So now I have a goal to work towards while writing this.

I used to write for about three hours a day straight. Then I’d do something else and let my brain recharge. Now, I get a little done but nowhere near three hours in one sitting, maybe in a whole day, but that will be scattered from say 8 AM to 5 PM with breaks for a whole lot of distractions. Maybe it was just that the distractions before were the sort that required a large block of time and I just plowed through my writing so that I had the free time to engage in the distraction. Now, YouTube is my major distraction and those videos are often short enough that I consider them just a rest for my eyes. Sudoku is another distraction that is usually short enough that I can rationalize playing a board before going back to my writing.

GEERATIONS UPON GENERATIONS is presently at about 26,000 words and I am shooting for around 48,000. I think that I can make it easily with the ending I thought of. HIGH TREASON should be about the same size but the last book in the series, title unknown for now, I plan on going for at least 100,000 words as it will probably be the last in the series. I have other books that I have been working on in the past and I will continue posting one or more of those as I complete them. I will probably continue this until I die; which, hopefully, will not be too soon. And when it does happen, I hope that it happens between stories so that no one is left hanging for the next chapter that never comes. I’m 66 years old so there is no guarantee there.

Leave a Reply

