June 27, 2016

6th Sunday after Pentecost, 2016

Posted in Personal tagged , , , at 1:34 am by gruundehn

I have my new printer in but not installed. The reason is that I am lethargic. I have always been lazy but lately I have been just plain lethargic. I missed church today because I overslept. Indeed I spent most of today in bed either napping or reading. I haven’t gotten dressed all day. This general lethargy is increasing and I can’t wait to see my doctor and find out what is going on. Or, rather, I will wait because I have to. My appointment isn’t for weeks yet.

Speaking of doctors, I have an eye doctor appointment this Tuesday. Loads of fun. I have a phobia about needles, everyone tells me it is a phobia but I think it is a rational reaction, but my reaction to something dealing with my eyes is even more severe. The eye drops needed to dilate my eyes will be a problem but the test for glaucoma will be impossible. I always pull away before that little green dot gets close to me. I will probably need a new prescription as I think my vision is a bit blurred. When I was younger and on active duty, it seemed like I had my prescription changed every year. But now that I am much older, the prescription seems to change every three or four years. I was under the impression that my eyes would change more as I got older, not less.

I got a little writing done and I did post a chapter on christophercolesite.wordpress.com but other than that, I haven’t done anything. I am trying to work on the YouTube scripts for the Libertarian Party but my lethargy gets in the way. I finished a pilot video and showed it at the monthly Pima County meeting and the consensus was that it was too long and boring. So, I am now shooting for two minutes and more active. The videos are probably going to be along the lines of Jeff Foxworthy’s “You might be a redneck” comedy but “You might be a Libertarian” instead. I am not a funny man, as a general rule, but I think I can make this work. If I can get them done.

The summer rains should start within a week or so and I, for one, will be glad. When I first got to Tucson, back in 1971, the summer rains were dependable. Now, it seems like it is a matter of catch as you can. Before the rains would start, three or four times a week, just about 1PM and last about two hours. The temperature would drop a good twenty degrees or more and the rest of the afternoon was enjoyable, regardless of the earlier heat. Now the rains come at all sorts of odd hours and the afternoons are miserable.

If you wish to do so, the prayer list I usually post here is to be found at gsptucson.org as part of the Sunday bulletin. I ask that you pray for the millions of people who have been killed, driven from their homelands and otherwise persecuted by Muslims throughout the world.

Leave a Reply

