March 7, 2016

4th Sunday in Lent, 2016

Posted in Personal tagged , , , at 1:11 am by gruundehn

I was talking with a woman at church and I told an old, bad joke. Here it is for you: A Roman Catholic man gets engaged to a non-Roman Catholic woman and she proceeds to take absolute control over the wedding: place, time, flowers, etc. He goes along, as if he had a choice. Once the ceremony is over and the reception is finished the two head off to the resort for their first night as husband and wife. Bedtime comes and the new husband grabs some sheets and a pillow and heads for the couch. The new wife asks why is isn’t coming to bed with her. He replies, “Because it is Lent.” Stunned, she stares at him for a moment then shouts, “That is the stupidest thing I ever heard of. To whom and for how long!” The woman I was talking to took a moment with a confused look and then she suddenly “got it” and laughing, an embarrassed laugh but she did laugh. I love bad jokes. When you tell a good joke well, everyone laughs; when you tell a good joke badly, everyone still laughs just not as much; when you tell a bad joke, everyone groans; but when you tell a bad joke well, you get the groans and the laughs.

I have started another blog here on WordPress. The blog name is christopphercolesite.wordpress.com. It is there that I am putting my stories, one chapter or short story at a time. When I selected the theme for the blog I chose one that I thought had the ability to have multiple pages so I could have an About and a separate page for each novel or story. However, it seems that there is just the About page and a single other page. I cannot see how to add pages to the blog. I may have to change themes if I can. As for now, I have two chapters of Entrance Examination posted – I had forgotten how much I hate typing something in that I already wrote.

This coming weekend will have an airshow at DMAFB. I missed it two years ago and am determined to go this year and enjoy myself around airplanes. I will eat too much, probably, and drink too much, probably, and buy too much, most likely. I will enjoy the aircraft show off flying, the Thunderbirds are among the performers, and probably be smiling all day. I joined the USAF in 1967 because of airplanes – it was either that or the USN and my choice was made when I remembered that nobody ever sank an Air Force Base.

If you wish to do so, please pray for: Michael the Presiding Bishop of the Episcopal Church, Kirk the Bishop for Arizona, Steve and the other clergy of Grace-St. Paul’s Episcopal Church; for those in the military especially those in combat zones especially Ronald Berryhill, Owen Chandler, Christopher Gallo, Michael Hannan, Andrew Harris, Donna Heath, Frederick Jenning, Jordan S. Marks, Eric Osche, Mark Pundt, Terrence Robinson, Laramie Struble, Brian; for those in need especially Catherine Brown, Anagrethe Christenson, Alysha Collins, Walter Collins, Jim & Rosemary DeCook, Jay Elliston, Peter Foley & Pia Cuneo, Phyllis Garver, Ann Grisel, Oma “Sam” Guard, Brenda & Gus Gustafson, Brother Chuck Hannan, Sara Heitshu, Joyce Henderson, Rita Magdaleno, Anagrace & Dan Misenhimer, Brenda Pentland, Bill & Heather Pentland, Danielle Phillips, Jane Pundt, Doree Ramey, Robert Rosenberg, Susan Southwick, Ann M. Stephens, Marilyn Thompson, James White, Sister Carol Wilans, Ed, Georgie, Lee, Melea, William Brown, Flora Chen, Stephen Chipman, Karen Gordon, Mildred Gregory, Francesca Jarvis, Tony Jones, Maribel Ortiz, Bridget Piech, Peggy Southwick, Amy, Bill, Connie, Jerry & Rondy, Joel, Karl, Marilyn, Monica & Danitza, Nate, Nick & Emily, Penny, Phil, Sam, Shauna, Yong, Yvonne & Ty; for animal companions in need especially Pop-Up; for those who have died especially Betty White, Ray Lawton, Bill Bigglestone; for animal companions who have died. I also ask that you pray for the millions of people who have been killed, driven from their homelands or otherwise persecuted by Muslims throughout the world.

Leave a Reply

