January 11, 2016

1st Sunday after Epiphany, 2016

Posted in Personal tagged , , , , at 12:12 am by gruundehn

This has not been a good week for me and it looks like next week may continue along similar lines. Last Wednesday night / Thursday morning I got terribly sick and since then I have had little energy and have been listless and lethargic. I got my haircut / beard trim Thursday morning after sleeping for maybe a couple of hours and without breakfast (dangerous for me as I am diabetic) and for lunch I had maybe six or seven French Fries and three bites of a chicken sandwich (still a dangerous lack of food) as I just could not eat any more than that  and for dinner I had a meal drink. Friday I spent in bed sleeping and continued the lack of eating (Only an English muffin for breakfast and half a sandwich for lunch and the other half for dinner)(I did drop almost ten pounds Friday and Saturday which is good if I can keep it off) and even now I merely want to go to bed and sleep some more. Isn’t it horrible when an old person complains about their health? The cold weather here in Tucson isn’t helping although the rain is welcome. We have a real start on beating our normal rainfall average. The temperature being about ten degrees below average would be nice in the summer but not now. I feel lousy and I don’t have a clue if it is the weather or lingering effects of whatever I had last week.

I was out with friends as normal for me on Saturdays, I felt bad but not bad enough to skip, and recorded the Steelers / Bengals playoff game. I watched it after I got home and was disappointed for two reasons. First, for some reason the recording stopped with 1:40 left in the game and I thus missed the most exciting part of the game; and Second, the Bengals lost. I found that out by going onto the internet and seeing the title of a story just as soon as I got to the home page. Five years the Bengals have made the playoffs and lost the first game. And from the stories I’ve read so far today, the 1:40 I missed is when the Bengals threw the game away, helped by a totally blown call by the officiating crew it seems. The call is to fire HC Marvin Lewis because he cannot seem to win a playoff game and cannot control the players, one especially, enough to avoid stupid penalties in critical situations. I am glad that I did not see the final 1:40 because, if it was as described, I would still be angry and I am just upset and sad at the loss. And I do not like being angry. I guess I will have to see how things develop for the rest of the playoffs and see if there is any team I want to cheer for, even if it is the team that isn’t the Steelers.

Since this seems to be shaping up to be a complaint post, I’ll add something that I hope is positive. The City of Tucson and election laws that are a disgrace but with the Federal courts ruling against the city a more reasonable election law can be put into place. I met with the Committee that is to make recommendations to the City Council on changing the Charter and spoke with them about the law and what should be done. I plan on attending the meeting tomorrow as well and pushing for better election law.

If you wish to do so, please pray for: Michael the Presiding Bishop of the Episcopal Church, Kirk the Bishop of Arizona, Steve and the other clergy of Grace-St. Paul’s Episcopal Church; for those in the military, especially those in combat zones especially Ronald Berryhill, Owen Chandler, Christopher Gallo, Michael Hannan, Andrew Harris, Donna Heath, Frederick Jenning, Jordan S. Marks, Eric Osche, Mark Pundt, Terrence Robinson, Laramie Struble, Brian; for those in need especially Michael Allen, Brian Arthur, Catherine Brown, Anagrethe Christensen, Alysha Collins, Walter Collins, Jim & Rosemary DeCook, Jay Elliston, Peter Foley & Pia Cuneo, Phyllis Garver, Ann Grisel, Oma “Sam” Guard, Brenda & Gus Gustafson, Brother Chuch Hannan, Sara Heitshu, Joyce Henderson, Jeff Kindle, Anagrace & Dan Misenhimmer, Brenda Pentland, Bill & Heather Pentland, Vinca Pessarakli, Danielle Phillips, Jane Pundt, Doree Ramey, Sam Reynolds, Robert Rosenberg, Susan Southwick, Marilyn Thompson, Al Whitehurst, Sister Carol Willans, Amaleah, Ed, Lee, Melea, Susie Anderson, William Brown, Sandy Fox, Mildred Gregory, Francesca Jarvis, Tony Jones, Jane Knebel, Reverend Susan & Ray Lawton, Maribel Ortiz, Laurence Pasquini, Peggy Southwick, Kim Waters, Alex, Amy, Bill, Catherine, Debbie, Jeanette & Connie, Jerry & Rondy, Jim, Joel, Karen, Karl, Marilyn, Monica & Danitza, Nate, Nick & Emily, Patti, Penny, Sharon, Shauna, Sophia, Tina, Yong Ae, Yvonne; for animal companions in need; for those who have died especially Matthew Q. McClintock; for animal companions who have died especially Biscuit, Pumpkin, Kitty. I also ask that you pray for the millions of people who have been killed, driven from their homes or otherwise persecuted by Muslims throughout the world.

Leave a Reply

