December 14, 2015

3rd Sunday in Advent, 2015

Posted in Personal tagged , , , , , , at 2:03 am by gruundehn

It is cold here in Tucson. Not as cold as a lot of the world, or America for that matter, but it is cold for here. It has been snowing in the mountains around Tucson and raining here in the valley. Not a lot of rain as far as some people would consider it, just under half an inch, but in the desert that is a lot. The average annual rainfall here is about 12 inches, or about 30.5 cm for everyone else, and we are right at that amount. Considering that Tucson has been a drought for years, maybe the drought has broken and our rainfall will get back to normal.

The VA hospital here in Pima County is pretty good. I haven’t had many problems and those have mostly been scheduling appointments. For a while the computer at the hospital would schedule my appointments for when my doctor was not available but that got fixed years ago. Then there was the time that the computer decided that one of my medications was recalled, no one else just my prescription alone, and refused to fill a renewal. I had to get the prescription cancelled and a new one issued. Now for some reason, over the last week and a half, every time I tried to get a follow-up appointment I was shunted to the voice mail of someone who may not even have been there, like maybe being on vacation or something, and so I never got a response. I called this last time and finally got a real person and got my appointment. I am having trouble with one finger on my left hand and with my left ankle. I don’t mind getting old, I mind getting decrepit.

As part of my being on the Pima County Election Integrity Commission I visited the County Treasurer, along with two other members of the Commission, and examined the area that is going to be used to store used and processed ballots. I am happy with what I saw. I also visited the County Registrar’s office and had a question about the security of the early ballots while in the possession of the Registrar’s office. I’m not completely happy with those security measures but I cannot think of what is causing my disquiet. But honest elections are vital to the survival of democracy and every effort should be made to ensure honest elections.

I have an estimated 4,000 books. I also have probably around 150 DVDs and Blu-Ray discs. I had a spreadsheet that cataloged the videos and was getting ready to start cataloging my books when the spreadsheet for the videos got scrambled and I had to start anew. I think I will start on the books and eliminate those I never read anymore and those I lost interest in. Maybe I can get my library down to 1,000 books that interest me. Once I have those cataloged and pared down I will do the videos and use the freed up bookcase shelves to store them. If I keep at my writing the cataloging could be done in five years or so.

I am getting the proofreading done on Dreadnaught and am trying to set the details of Generation upon Generations in my mind for when I will restart work on that book. I still need to get a basic plot idea for the two other books in the series that I intend but that can wait until I am closer to done with what I am doing now. And then I want to get back to Magic in the Monastery and finish it off. I have decided to not continue working on the magic detective series, inspired by the Lord Darcy stories, as I have too much trouble with detective stories.

I heard a nice bit of news while watching the Bengals lose to the Steelers today. Leah Stihl is cancer free. This is the daughter of a former defensive tackle for the Bengals who was drafted two years ago and cut. However, he had been distracted by his daughter’s cancer and that was a main reason for his poor performance. The Bengals put him on the practice squad so that his daughter was covered by health insurance and he was called up to the regular team and played some games last year. He was cut again. I do not know what he is doing but he and his daughter helped raise millions of dollars for pediatric cancer research through the sales of replicas of his jersey through the Bengals store. I hope he has work and is doing well and I hope that his daughter stays cancer free. Thanks for your prayers for her.

If you wish to do so, please pray for Michael the Presiding Bishop of the Episcopal Church, Kirk the Bishop for Arizona, Steve and the other clergy of Grace-St. Paul’s Episcopal Church; for those in the military especially those in combat zones especially Ronald Berryhill, Christopher Gallo, Michael Hannan, Andrew Harris, Donna Heath, Frederick Jenning, Jordan S. Marks, Eric Osche, Mark Pundt, Terrence Robinson, Laramie Struble, Brian; for those in need especially Michael Allen, Catherine Brown, Anagrethe Christensen, Alysha Collins, Walter Collins, Jay Elliston, Carol Flinn, Peter Foley & Pia Cuneo, Phyllis Garver, Ann Grisel, Oma “Sam” Guard, Brenda & Gus Gustafson, Brother Chuck Hannan, Sara Heitshu, Joyce Henderson, Lois Mervyn, Anagrace & Dan Misenhimer, Danielle Phillips, Jane Pundt, Doree Ramey, Sam Reynolds, Robert Rosenberg, Susan Southwick, Sister Carol Wilans, Ed, Lee, Melea, William Brown, Sandy Fox, Mildred Gregory, Francesca Jarvis, Tony Jones, Jane Knebel, Reverend Susan & Ray Lawton, Maribel Ortiz, Laurence Pasquini, Peggy Southwick, Amy, Bill, Debbie, Jeanette & Connie, Jerry & Rondy, Jim, Joel, Karl, Marilyn, Michelle, Monica & Danitza, Nate, Nick & Emily, Penny, Sharon, Shauna, Tina, Yong Ae, Yvonne; for animal companions in need; for those who have died especially Layne Deacon; for animal companions who have died especially Biscuit. I also ask that you pray for the millions of people killed, driven from their homelands or otherwise persecuted by Muslims throughout the world.

Leave a Reply

